Speyside Croft

speyside-croft-october-2016

I first photographed this Speyside moorland croft in 2011. On my first visit it was mid October and with bright and changeable conditions. Almost five years later to the very day and it was practically identical weather. The moorland area is vast and given over to grouse shooting. There are gated Landrover tracks that lead you up into the hills where numerous abandoned crofts and out buildings can be seen. I hiked up to a position that I’d previously looked at and began shooting almost immediately, as the early morning light was exactly what I wanted. I spent a very contented couple of hours with my camera, exploring the area, enjoying the solitude and thinking about photography.

The image was made using my Hasselblad and the 80mm lens. The film was Ilford FP4 with a deep red filter. In the darkroom the print was developed in Fotospeed LD20.

Leave a comment