Slow Light

Some years ago I spent a lot of money on a very beautiful zero image pinhole camera. I think it was medium format and oozed quality. Anyway, to cut a very sad story short my January tax demand came in and I ended up selling the camera straight away to help pay the bill.

Over the past few years I’ve really enjoyed looking at pinhole work made by some expert practitioners on various film formats. Recently having spent some more time looking into the numerous cameras available, and given thought to the kind of work I’d like to make I decided to purchase a 5×4 pinhole. It made sense, I already have the dark slides – lots of them and the Jobo dev tanks for bulk processing.

noon camera

I purchased the Noon 45W camera – imported from Poland and made of Walnut wood. It can accommodate a variety of 45 film holders and Polaroid film backs and has it’s own serial number.

The 45 image here was made on my second outing with the camera. The camera is nice and sturdy and once attached to the heavy tripod doesn’t move when the dark slides are being used or changed over. I really like the fact that you can add different film backs, even my Horesman 6×9 looks as though it will fit.

My intention now is to work away on this LF series which will be printed in my darkroom. I’ll be posting the results here and on my website www.michaelprincephotography.co.uk over the coming months.

Kippen Muir pinhole_rev01_

 

 

Leave a comment